The Coeliac, D H and Gluten Free Message Board
[ Post a Response | The Coeliac, D H and Gluten Free Message Board ]
When posting messages that contain useful information please only use smilies at the start and end of the message to make it easier to copy it to the supplementary board. It is even more helpful if you post a copy of useful information on the supp board yourself.
Re: Do you eat oats?
Posted by Jane, Somerset on 11/4/2018, 16:01:24, in reply to "Re: Do you eat oats?"
I eat oats that are certified gluten free. As far as I understand it oats do not contain gluten but they do have a protein called Avenin. Some coeliacs react to avenin in the same way as they react to gluten.
The dietician told me to restrict my daily intake to 40g. Apparently CUK now say any amount of oats is ok but the dietician said itís better to err on the cautious side.