The Coeliac, D H and Gluten Free Message Board
[ Post a Response | The Coeliac, D H and Gluten Free Message Board ]
When posting messages that contain useful information please only use smilies at the start and end of the message to make it easier to copy it to the supplementary board. It is even more helpful if you post a copy of useful information on the supp board yourself.
Gluten Free Oats
Posted by Sheona (Drossa) on 11/4/2018, 20:23:01, in reply to "Re: Do you eat oats?"
Usually, farmers rotate their crops and at some time in the cycle they may grow oats. These, grown on land which has previously been used for growing other grains, are not gluten free oats.
Gluten Free Oats are grown on land which has not been previously used for the growing of grains such as wheat, barley or rye.
The gluten free oats are harvested, processed and packed in places where there is no possibility of cross contamination with wheat, barley or rye.
To be sold as gluten free, such oats should be certified.