The Coeliac, D H and Gluten Free Message Board
[ Post a Response | The Coeliac, D H and Gluten Free Message Board ]
When posting messages that contain useful information please only use smilies at the start and end of the message to make it easier to copy it to the supplementary board. It is even more helpful if you post a copy of useful information on the supp board yourself.
Yes there are certain products that are technically gf (i.e. less than 20ppm) in the directory/app that contain barley extract. many coeliacs seem to be fine with it but some are not. Just like with gf oats, you will have to try and see. barley extract is usually stated on food labels for example some breakfast cereals (but isnt on gf beer labels or kopperberg ciders).
Its a shame cuk dont explain this for newly diagnosed and ignore the issue. Yeast extracts in the directory have less than 20ppm gluten (theyre a by-product of normal beer making so are unlikely to be completely barley free) but marmite brand tests over that amount - confusingly, it used to be considered gf when the permitted amount was 200ppm (parts per million).
Id love it if the app highlighted which things contain barley extract which make me slightly ill and gf oats which make me massively ill!
Fingers crossed youre one of the 80% who are fine with it.
This is a great forum for gf questions. Ask away!